Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the 2020 JUNO Awards, which were originally scheduled to happen in Saskatoon back in March, were cancelled.  Although artists like Alessia Cara, Shawn Mendes and Jessie Reyez weren’t able to walk across the stage to physically receive their award, a virtual ceremony was held last night (June 29).




Huge congratulations goes to Alessia Cara and Shawn Mendes – they were last night’s big winners.  Alessia, who was scheduled to host this year’s award show, walked away with three awards (she was nominated for six) – ‘Album of the Year,’ ‘Songwriter of the Year,’ and ‘Pop Album of the Year.’




Shawn made JUNO history – he is now the first artist in history to win ‘Single of the Year’ for the last three years.  Shawn won this year for his for ‘Señorita’ collaboration with Camila Cabello.  In 2019, he won with ‘In My Blood’ and in 2018, he won  with ‘There’s Nothing Holdin’ Me Back.’




And check this out – next year, the JUNO’s will be celebrating their 50th anniversary, and they’ve decided to hold the award show in TORONTO!


Check out the full list of winner’s from the 2020 JUNO Awards below:


Juno Fan Choice
Avril Lavigne

Single of the Year
“Senorita,” Shawn Mendes and Camila Cabello

International Album of the Year
When We All Fall Asleep, Where Do We Go?, Billie Eilish

Album of the Year
The Pains of Growing, Alessia Cara

Artist of the Year
Shawn Mendes

Group of the Year
Loud Luxury

Breakthrough Artist of the Year
Lennon Stella

Breakthrough Group of the Year
Neon Dreams

Songwriter of the Year
Alessia Cara

Country Album of the Year
Meghan Patrick, Wild as Me

Adult Alternative Album of the Year
A Blemish in the Great Light, Half Moon Run

Alternative Album of the Year
Morbid Stuff, Pup

Pop Album of the Year
The Pains of Growing, Alessia Cara

Rock Album of the Year
A War on Everything, The Glorious Sons

Vocal Jazz Album of the Year
Stay Tuned!, Dominique Fils-Aime

Jazz Album of the Year: Solo
Migrations, Jacques Kuba Seguin

Jazz Album of the Year: Group
Abundance, Ernesto Cervini’s Turboprop

Instrumental Album of the Year
Inscape, Alexandra Streliski

Francophone Album of the Year
La Nuit Est Une Panthere, Les Louanges

Children’s Album of the Year
Greatest Hits, Vol. 4, Big Block Singsong

Classical Album of the Year: Solo or Chamber
detach, Angela Schwarzkopf

Classical Album of the Year: Large Ensemble
The John Adams Album

Classical Album of the Year: Vocal or Choral
Handel: Dixit Dominus; Bach & Schutz: Motets, Ottawa Bach Choir Conducted by Lisette Canton

Classical Composition of the Year
Evta, Ana Sokolovic

Rap Recording of the Year
“Freaky,” Tory Lanez

Dance Recording of the Year
“Love Me,” Felix Cartal and Lights

R&B/Soul Recording of the Year
Feel It Too, Jessie Reyez, Tory Lanez & Tainy

Reggae Recording of the Year
The Warning Track, Lyndon John X

Indigenous Artist or Group of the Year
Stories From a Downtown Apartment, Celeigh Cardinal

Contemporary Roots Album of the Year
Mohawk, Lee Harvey Osmond

Traditional Roots Album of the Year
Sugar & Joy, The Dead South

Blues Album of the Year
Mad Love, Dawn Tyler Watson

Contemporary Christian/Gospel Album of the Year
The Advent of Christmas, Matt Maher

World Music Album of the Year
Barokan, Djely Tapa

Jack Richardson Producer of the Year
Ben Kaplan

Recording Engineer of the Year
John ‘Beetle’ Bailey

Album Artwork of the Year
Selections From Cuphead

Music Video of the Year
“Little Star,” Sarah Legault and Iskwe

Electronic Album of the Year
Beyond the Senses, Rezz

Metal/Hard Music Album of the Year
Play to Win, Striker

Adult Contemporary Album of the Year
Shine a Light, Bryan Adams

Comedy Album of the Year
Lil Bit of Buddle, Sophie Buddle

Filed under: 2020-juno-awards, Alessia Cara, shawn-mendes